Paid ads, local service businesses

Which ad channel fits a local service business?

A local service business has five realistic places to buy attention. They bill differently and demand different things before the first ad runs. This table is what each platform states about its own rules, so you can pick the channel before you pick an agency.

Checked against each vendor's own pages on October 14, 2026. Every cell links to its source. Prices and plans change often, so click through before you buy.

Google Search Ads

Google

Minimum spend
Not publishedThe cited page covers Smart campaigns and only caps monthly spend; it states no minimum for Search. It mentions a possible minimum transaction amount for prepay only.Understanding costs and payments
You pay per
Per click. You pay the actual cost per click, usually below your max CPC bid.Local Services Ads disputed-lead rules do not apply to Search ads.Actual cost-per-click
Who can run it
No license or category check stated. Brand assets need advertiser verification.Verification is needed only to show a verified business name or logo. Ads still run without it.About brand verification for business informa...
Do reviews affect placement?
Not publishedThe Ad Rank page lists six factors (bid, ad and landing page quality, Ad Rank thresholds, auction competitiveness, search context, expected impact of assets and formats) and does not mention ratings or reviews. The seller ratings page does not say ratings affect eligibility or placement. Google does not state either way, so 'no' is an inference from absence, not a vendor statement.About Ad Rank
What you need before the first ad runs
Not publishedThe cited page is Smart-campaign billing text. It says payment methods depend on country and currency, and that Smart campaigns have no activation fee. It does not list required assets for Search (website, Business Profile, verification), nor state that none are required. 'Account, payment method, budget' is not stated as a requirement.Understanding costs and payments
Commitment
No contract. You can cancel your account at any time.Accrued costs must still be paid after cancelling, and ads stop within 24 hours.Cancelling your Google Ads account
Our pick
The channel for urgent searches. No contract, pay per click. Get conversion tracking live before the first dollar.

Google Local Services Ads

Google

Minimum spend
No dollar minimum published. Google recommends a minimum budget of 10 leads per week.The 10 leads per week figure is advice under the Maximize leads bid mode, not a required spend. The page describes a weekly average budget and a monthly max but states no minimum amount.Local Services Help: Set your bid and budget
You pay per
Per valid lead, not per click. Charged leads may be credited automatically if later judged low quality, and you can flag a lead in the Feedback Survey.Credits usually post within 30 days, and the original charge still appears on the invoice.Local Services Help: How leads work Local Services Help: Automated lead credits
Who can run it
Google screening is required. Advertisers must complete appropriate background checks, and licenses and insurance vary by category.Many business and owner checks apply only to select users or states. Requirements are grouped into 11 categories, and some categories are limited to specific cities or states.Local Services Help: Business screening and v...
Do reviews affect placement?
Reviews are a requirement to go live with pre-badge ads, subject to category. Google states that failing to answer calls or messages can affect ad ranking; it does not state that ratings or reviews affect rank.Partial: reviews affect eligibility but the page does not tie them to ranking. Ranking is tied to responsiveness.Local Services Help: Getting started
What you need before the first ad runs
A public, verified Google Business Profile, plus Google screening. Many categories also need business and owner licenses and general or professional liability insurance.Screening takes about 3 to 4 weeks on average after documents are submitted. The page gives no insurance minimum amount. The Getting started page itself did not mention the Business Profile; the screening page does.Local Services Help: Business screening and v...
Commitment
Not publishedNone of the pages we checked state a contract, minimum term or cancellation policy.Local Services Help: Getting started
Our pick
Pay per lead, with Google screening and reviews gating who goes live. Worth the paperwork for licensed trades.

Meta Ads

Meta

Minimum spend
No fixed dollar minimum published; $5 is a suggested startMeta says it requires a minimum budget per campaign or ad set, but publishes no single figure; it varies by country, objective, vertical and bid strategy. The $5 figure (with a duration over six days) is a recommendation on the pricing page, not a floor.Best Practices for Minimum Budgets Facebook and Instagram Ads Pricing
You pay per
Usually per impression, unless you choose clicks at setupCharged when spend reaches a payment threshold, then on the monthly bill date; location fees can appear on the invoice. Receipt shows clicks and impressions you are charged for.How Meta Charges for Ads
Who can run it
Business verification needed for some ad featuresOnly a business portfolio owner with full control can start verification; advertisers paying by monthly invoicing do not submit documents. Verification can take up to 14 business days and may ask for a business license if no record matches.How to verify your business in Meta Business...
Do reviews affect placement?
Customer survey feedback affects ad quality and auction; public reviews not mentionedMeta says feedback from a post-ad survey shapes the ad auction and that positive feedback can improve performance. The page does not mention public star ratings or written reviews.Best practices for positive customer feedback...
What you need before the first ad runs
Ad account with a payment method, before the first adThe page we checked list no website, Business Profile or insurance requirement; a Facebook Page is not stated as required here.How Meta Charges for Ads
Commitment
No minimum term stated; you can cancel or pause an ad at any timeMeta publishes no contract or minimum term on the pages checked. Billing runs by automatic billing (threshold plus monthly bill date) or prepaid available funds.Facebook and Instagram Ads Pricing How Meta Charges for Ads
Our pick
For visual trades and consideration purchases. Verify the business first and expect feedback scores to affect delivery.

Nextdoor Ads

Nextdoor

Minimum spend
No minimum spend required; Nextdoor suggests starting at $100 a dayA separate Nextdoor page lists $3, $5 or $10 a day as recommended budgets, not minimums, and states no minimum.Neighborhood Ad Center quickstart Tips for selecting a budget for Nextdoor Ads
You pay per
Per click (CPC) or per 1,000 impressions (CPM); no per-lead price publishedBilling model depends on campaign objective. Blogs describe a 31-day upfront charge for some budgets, while the quickstart describes a billing threshold. Pay-per-lead and lead dispute rules are not published.How to Determine the ROI of Your Nextdoor Ad... Neighborhood Ad Center quickstart
Who can run it
Good standing, no violation in 90 days; may need proof of business tiesAccount must not have a violation in the past 90 days or an overdue charge over 90 days. If advertising for a business you don't own, you may be asked to verify affiliation. Pharmacy (LegitScript or NABP), addiction treatment (LegitScript), sports and crypto ads need approval or certification.Nextdoor Ad Policy
Do reviews affect placement?
Not publishedAd policy, small business page and ROI blog do not say that ratings or reviews affect ad rank or eligibility. The small business page mentions recommendations and reputation, not tied to ads.Nextdoor Ad Policy Nextdoor Small Business Ads
What you need before the first ad runs
Payment method set up before launch; ads need approval; verification of affiliation may be requested if advertising for a business you don't ownNo ad page we checked states that a claimed Business Page is required to run ads (the small business page ties claiming to the free Business Page, not to ads). Website and insurance are not published as requirements.Neighborhood Ad Center quickstart Nextdoor Ad Policy
Commitment
No contract or minimum term stated; ads can be paused at any time; continuous ads rebill every 31 daysPage does not describe cancellation or any contract or commitment. Rebilling applies to continuous ads.Guide to promoting a sale with Nextdoor Ads
Our pick
Neighborhood reach with no minimum. Good for a second channel once Search is measured.

Yelp Ads

Yelp

Minimum spend
Average $5/day per Yelp's FAQ; no fixed minimum statedYelp's pricing page lists Yelp Ads 'From $150/month' and says 'Minimum budgets subject to change.' with no number. No effective date on either page.Yelp Ads product page Yelp local business pricing
You pay per
Per click (CPC). Price moves with supply and demandSearch ads page also states cost-per-click billing. Monthly budget is a cap on total charges. No lead, impression or call billing found. Disputed-lead handling is a Google LSA concept and is not published by Yelp.Yelp search ads page Yelp CPC program article
Who can run it
Not publishedProduct, pricing, search ads and CPC pages state no verification, license or category requirement. The CPC article's category language describes ad delivery, not eligibility.Yelp Ads product page
Do reviews affect placement?
Not publishedThe search ads page says placements are 'optimized to maximize efficiency' and names no review or rating factor. Unconfirmed, not a 'no'.Yelp search ads page
What you need before the first ad runs
Not publishedThe pricing page shows the ads tier as 'Yelp Business Page, plus:' (the free Business Page is the base), but Yelp does not state it as a requirement and lists no website, verification or insurance prerequisite.Yelp local business pricing
Commitment
Pay as you go. Cancel anytime, no term contractPricing page shows 'Cancel anytime.' on Yelp Ads (From $150/month), Upgrade Package ($180/month) and the combined package (From $270/month).Yelp Ads product page Yelp local business pricing
Our pick
Pay as you go and cancel anytime, but it only works where Yelp is already the directory for your trade.

Pick the channel by how your customer looks for you

Someone with a burst pipe searches. Someone thinking about a kitchen remodel scrolls. The channel follows the moment.

  1. 01Search for urgencyGoogle Search and Local Services Ads catch people with a problem right now. Search bills per click, Local Services per lead.
  2. 02Feeds for considerationMeta and Nextdoor reach people before they search. Good for visual trades and neighborhoods, slow to show a return.
  3. 03Reviews before adsLocal Services Ads need reviews to go live, and Meta weighs customer feedback on ads. Reviews are free, so collect them first.

No ad channel can be judged without conversion tracking. If calls and forms are not counted, you cannot tell the channel that works from the one that does not.

Spearworks AI

Want the tracking in place before the spend starts?

I set up the ad accounts in your name, wire call and form tracking, and manage campaigns for a flat monthly fee banded to spend. Ad budget goes to the platform on your card, never through me.

Book a free consult

Nathan Spear · spearworksai.com

Spearworks Labs · All comparisons · Checked October 14, 2026. Not affiliated with any vendor listed.